We have recently seen a rise in the amount of users reporting an issue with their internet browsers (Safari, Chrome, or Firefox), in which a pop-up alert window seems instructing them that their computer might have been hijacked or that there’s a « major protection issue ».

We have recently seen a rise in the amount of users reporting an issue with their internet browsers (Safari, Chrome, or Firefox), in which a pop-up alert window seems instructing them that their computer might have been hijacked or that there’s a « major protection issue ».

In regards to the Browser Pop-up Alert Scam

The window may have a phone even quantity to phone as seen below

What You Should Do If You See One Of These Simple Windows?

It’s important to understand that this isn’t some type of computer virus, and your Mac has not been infected with any spyware. It’s also essential that you do NOT call the tele phone number placed in this window. This is often a scam, and you should not spend any money or share your personal information with anyone to eliminate these messages. You will more than likely be asked to install special software on your Mac that will allow them to remotely access information on your computer and possibly compromise your system further if you do happen to call one of these phone numbers.

Removing the Alert From Your Own Web Browser

If the truth is this message in your online browser, stick to the guidelines below to clear this threat

1. Reset Your Browser2. Force Stop and Restart Browser3. Delete Safari Preferences Manually4. How to proceed If the Phone was called by you Number5. Protect Your Computer From Future Attacks6. Contact Intego Support

1. Reset Your Browser

Note The next steps are for the version that is latest of Safari 13 or 14. If you use an adult version, see Safari – Resetting Older variations

In the Safari 14 menu, select ‘Preferences. ‘

Click the ‘Privacy’ button at the very top associated with brand new window that seems, and then click the ‘Manage web site information’ switch. Into the dialog that is next, click ‘Remove All’. It will ask you if you should be yes you wish to remove all information saved by websites on your desktop.

Ch se ‘Remove Now’ to clear information that might be used to track your browsing. Continuer la lecture de « We have recently seen a rise in the amount of users reporting an issue with their internet browsers (Safari, Chrome, or Firefox), in which a pop-up alert window seems instructing them that their computer might have been hijacked or that there’s a « major protection issue ». »